Log in

LegislatioN

Support Damage Prevention Legislation

Hundreds of thousands of kilometres of pipes and cables are buried across Alberta. This infrastructure provides the essential services that are the lifeblood for our communities and of our way of life, including clean water, heat, power, cell service and internet.

Damaging a buried utility is dangerous for the workers involved and can deprive homes and businesses of essential services. Each year, damage to underground infrastructure costs Albertans more than $350 million. To ensure the safety of our workers, to help protect the integrity of our buried utility network and to preserve our essential services, Alberta needs damage prevention legislation.

Provincial damage prevention legislation has been tabled in the Alberta Legislature and been referred to committee. The legislation proposes developing recommendations for future legislation. In the next few months, the committee will consult stakeholders on the bill before it is brought back to the Alberta Legislature in March, 2019.

We Need Your Help

Bill 211 has been referred to the Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship. They are requested to report the bill back to the assembly the week of March 4, 2019This means the committee will be meeting in the coming weeks and we will expect them to ask for input from various stakeholders.

Below is a list of MLA’s who sit on the resource stewardship committee. If you live in one of their constituencies, please contact Michelle Tetreault, either by email at executivedirector@albertacga.ca or by phone at 403.519.8651. She will provide you direction on setting up a face to face meeting or sending correspondence to the appropriate committee member.

Alberta MLAs

Brandy Payne
Calgary-Acadia

calgary.acadia@assembly.ab.ca

Greg Clark
Calgary-Elbow

calgary.elbow@assembly.ab.ca

Prasad Panda
Calgary-Foothills

calgary.foothills@assembly.ab.ca

Anam Kazim
Calgary-Glenmore

calgary.glenmore@assembly.ab.ca

Jamie Kleinsteuber
Calgary-Northern Hills

calgary.northernhills@assembly.ab.ca

Chris Nielsen
Edmonton-Decore

edmonton.decore@assembly.ab.ca

Rod Loyola
Edmonton-Ellerslie

edmonton.ellerslie@assembly.ab.ca

Thomas Dang
Edmonton-South West

edmonton.southwest@assembly.ab.ca
Todd Loewen
Grande Prairie-Smoky
grandeprairie.smoky@assembly.ab.ca
Wayne Drysdale
Grande Prairie-Wapiti
grandeprairie.wapiti@assembly.ab.ca
David Hanson
Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills
laclabiche.stpaul.twohills@assembly.ab.ca
Kim Schreiner
Red Deer-North
reddeer.north@assembly.ab.ca
Erin Babcock
Stony Plain
stony.plain@assembly.ab.ca
Derek Fildebrandt
Strathmore-Brooks

strathmore.brooks@assembly.ab.ca

Eric Rosendahl
West Yellowhead
west.yellowhead@assembly.ab.ca

It is now more important than ever to demonstrate the dedication and support of Alberta's damage prevention and ground disturbance community.

Your voice matters. Your support will move Bill 211 forward.

Show your support online by following @AB_CGA on Twitter and posting with the hashtag #DigSafe.

Follow On Social Media

Download

Bill 211 Handout

Download


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software